In-between Update: GO GET BORED!

So, I wanna go back to talking about Wordsworth a little bit.

I was trying to find a blog to participate in about the Romantics. And I found nothing. Bummer. I guess I’m the only weirdo out here in cyberspace who gives a flip about the Romantics (yeah, I know that’s not true). Anyway, I did run across this article while looking around for some stuff on the Romantics

To sum it up, this guy is extolling the virtues of boredom. Apparently, some new research is saying that kids today aren’t bored enough, that boredom actually gets the creative juices flowing. The author of the article I ran across starts going off about the Romantics and Wordsworth.

And perhaps, spurred by some natural beauty we encounter in our retreat, we might create artistic beauty. The vague image in the back of the mind of our reflexive defender of boredom, whether or not this person has read a word of Wordsworth, is a guy sitting by himself in a field, surrounded by a host of golden daffodils, letting his mind wander lonely as a cloud, and then recollecting, in this moment of tranquility, the other host of golden daffodils he saw earlier that day, which he plans to write a poem about, or maybe paint a picture of. That, anyway, is the vague image in the back of my mind when I read about the neurological virtues of boredom.

I wish I had discussed more the idea of recalling beauty in tranquility. For Wordsworth, that’s a pretty important idea. It’s the way our mind works. Like Coleridge talks about with his imaginations, we gather experiences up and later, after they have mingled together,  we recall them and put them together in some new order.

The author talks specifically about children. And somehow, I completely overlooked Wordsworth’s views on childhood (which will come up when we hopefully talk about Blake). To Wordsworth, the child had the best imagination. Go read the Intimations Ode. Like, really, right now. It just might be the best poetry you’ve ever read.

Because the child is so soon come from God, the child sees everything around him with a sort of heavenly glow, as God sees the world. As the child grows older, worldly experience seeps in and replaces the Godly way of seeing creation. Andy might have some interesting things to say about how language actually changes the way things are seen in relation to Wordsworth’s theory.

Well, I think I’m gonna go get bored for a while and see if it will help me write my papers and think of interesting things to do with this blog.

2 responses to “In-between Update: GO GET BORED!

  1. Rachel Bradford

    I completely agree with the need for more boredom. 🙂 I’ve had this discussion in a class when I was in college. We were all learning to be teachers and we’re having to learn to teach to entertain because kids are used to being constantly entertained unless they are sleeping. It’s difficult for them to be all they can be creatively when they are mentally occupied around the clock. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Candy Sims Otts

    That makes sense, James. Now that I think about it, I actually can arrive at my best ideas when I am bored. Some people think that poetry in general is boring, or difficult to understand. I wasn’t sure about poetry myself, until this semester. I will certainly heed this advice and be bored so that I can “flow with creative ideas!”

Leave a Reply

